It is a matter of great pride that CBI enjoys the Faith & Trust of the Common Man, says Minister of State for Personnel Shri V Narayanasamy ;
Director CBI Amar Pratap Singh says Close Coordination among Anti-corruption agencies is Essential as it leads to Synergy which enhances Capabilities of all;
Biennial Conference of CBI & State Anti-Corruption Bureaux adopts Key Resolutions to effectively Conduct Anti-corruption Investigations

Press Release
New Delhi , 22-10-2011

The two day Conference of the CBI and State Anti-Corruption Bureaux-2011 concluded in New Delhi today. The Conference had wide ranging deliberations on issues relating to tackling corruption and adopted several key resolutions.

Addressing the Valedictory Session of the Conference, Minister of State for Personnel Shri V Narayanasamy said he was proud that the CBI enjoys the faith of people, which was a direct result of the professional manner in which the Bureau conducts its investigations. He assured the CBI of full support from the Centre in respect of funding, infrastructure and administrative support so that the motivation of the officers and staff of CBI always remains high.

Shri Narayanasamy said the battle against corruption is not an easy one and corruption cannot be treated on the same footing as other crimes. He said a broad strategy is needed to focus on causative issues of corruption rather than dealing with individual cases. He added the government is fully committed to making India corruption-free and will leave no stone unturned to achieve the goal.

Secretary (Personnel) Smt. Alka Sirohi, Vigilance Commissioners Shri R. Sri Kumar & Shri J.M.Garg also addressed the Conference. In their respective speeches, they laid importance to preventive vigilance and participative vigilance through direct engagement of the common man using technology to help check corrupt practices.

Director CBI Shri Amar Pratap Singh in his address in the Valedictory Session thanked the Hon'ble Prime Minister & the Minister of State for Personnel for their support and guidance. He said that the Conference discussed several crucial issues which will be useful in tackling corruption. Shri Singh said close coordination among anti corruption agencies is essential as it leads to synergy which enhances the capabilities of all. He added that the Conference has made an important recommendation regarding Special Courts which outlines the need for an appropriate number of fast and exclusive special courts to be set up in states with fifty percent financial assistance from the Centre.

The 18th Biennial Conference of the CBI and State anti-corruption Bureaux passed important resolutions which include a need for standardizing various norms applicable to the set-ups of anti corruption agencies across the country and the need for coordination between state Anti-Corruption Bureaux (ACBx) and CBI. The Conference recommended that the role and functions of Lokayuktas proposed at the level of states and their inter-relationship with the state ACBx should be the same as the relationship between the CBI and the Lokpal, i.e. the state ACBx should retain their investigation function and Lokayuktas should ensure full functional autonomy and independence to these Bureaus. The Conference also resolved to constitute a working group to examine issues relating to lack of standardization of practices in investigation of disproportionate assets/trap cases and formulate standard operating procedures

On this occasion, the Union Minister of State for Personnel Shri V. Narayanaswamy gave away Police Medals for Meritorious Services to 18 CBI personnel. The awardees were Sh. Hemant Priyadarshy, IPS, DIG, CBI, Bhopal; Sh. Srikrishan Yadav, Head Constable(Retd.), CBI AC.II, New Delhi; Sh. Phool Singh, Head Constable(Retd.), CBI, Vigilance Cell, New Delhi; Sh. Vasu Kavidas, Head Constable, CBI, HQ, New Delhi; Sh. S. Suresh, IPS, DIG, CBI, ACB, Jaipur; Sh. Deepak Kumar Kabi, DSP, CBI, ACB, Ranchi; Sh. Ashesh Kumar, DSP, CBI, AHD, Ranchi; Sh. Partha Mukherjee, DSP, CBI, ACB, Kolkata; Sh. Murugavel Sundaravel, Inspector, CBI, SU, Chennai; Sh. Prabhajan, Chakraborty, Inspector, CBI, ACB, Patna; Smt. Chanda Rani, Inspector, CBI, BS&FC, Bangalore; Sh. Ishwar Singh, Sub Inspector, CBI, EO.I, New Delhi; Sh. Ajeet Singh, Sub-Inspector, CBI, EO.III, New Delhi; Sh. Kailash Shiranna Bore, ASI, CBI, SCB, Mumbai; Sh. Amar Singh, ASI, CBI, SC.II, New Delhi; Sh. Naresh Kumar, Head Constable, CBI, SU, Delhi; Sh. Mohd. M. Ali Khan, Head Constable, CBI, Academy, Ghaziabad & Sh. Tribhuwan Shankar, Constable, CBI, ACB, Dehradun.

The Union Minister of State for Personnel, Shri V. Narayanaswamy also gave away the trophy for the Best Branch of the year 2009 to ACB, Chandigarh. The trophy was received by Sh. Mahesh Aggarwal, HOB, ACB, CBI Chandigarh.